Almond Butter Cookies (with White Chocolate Chips)

26 Sep

Sometimes you just need to bake, I get the itch fairly often, and now that Fall is here I just can’t help myself. Last night I didn’t have any bananas to use up, or fruit in my freezer, chocolate chip cookies were not the answer…so what did I do? Well duh? I looked for a little inspiration on Pinterest of course! I saw a few different variations of Almond Butter Cookies and decided to adapt this one. I don’t know about you but I have never been a big peanut butter fan, I will eat it but I probably would choose something else if I could.

The first time I tried Almond Butter I was completely sold, I like the flavor much more than peanut butter. And to be honest after making these almond butter cookies I don’t think I will going back to the traditional peanut butter cookies anytime soon!

Almond Butter Cookies with White Chocolate Chips – Adapted from Good Life Eats

Makes about 32 Cookies.

Ingredients

1 & 1/4 Cups of Flour

1/4 Teaspoon of Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon of Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon of Salt

8 Tablespoons (1 Stick) of Butter, softened

1/2 Cup Light Brown Sugar

1/2 Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Almond Butter

1 Large Egg

1 & 1/4 Teaspoons of Vanilla

1/2 Cup of Almond Flour (you can also substitute coarsely chopped almonds)

1 Cup of White Chocolate Chips (optional)

Instructions

Line baking sheet with parchment paper or grease your cookie sheet accordingly. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a bowl and set aside. Beat butter until creamy and then add the white and brown sugar, continue beating until fluffy. Be sure to scrape the bowl with a spatula to ensure all ingredients are well combined. ( I find that there is always a large butter clump in the bottom of my kitchenaid mixing bowl).

Beat in the almond butter and vanilla until combined and then beat in the egg. Gently stir in your bowl of dry ingredients. Once combined, add the almond flour and white chocolate chips and stir until they are incorporated.

Roll cookies into balls, about 2 tablespoons of dough in each ball. (I used this portion scoop and it worked like a dream) Lightly flour a fork and press the dough balls down in a crisscross pattern. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the edges are slightly brown. Let the cookies cool for a couple of minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack.

Enjoy!

Xo

Leave a Reply

