Montana Road Trip Part 2

28 Aug

Continued from Montana Road Trip Part 1

After we spent the day in Glacier National Park, we kind of knew that there wasn’t much along the rest of the trip that would top it. But there were a few things that came pretty close. On the weekend we headed to Stevensville, Montana for the 100th Annual Creamery Picnic and the home of the Smokin’ in the Root BBQ Competition. It was a beautiful drive through the Treasure State. Seriously, check out Flathead Lake.

Stunner!

The Creamery Picnic was an awesome little fair; there were firefighter games,

(I took this with my iPhone and it has become one my favorite photos…EVER!)

lots of live music, and plenty of food. Speaking of food, check out our wining dessert. Tropical Banoffee Parfaits, made by the lovely Angie.

Stevensville was also the location of the start of a lifetime love affair, between myself and Huckleberries. If you have never tried them, you need to! They are not exactly easy to track down so when you see them, 2 words…stock up! My favorite Huckleberry items were this Huckleberry lemonade from the fair.

And this Huckleberry Licorice I picked up on the way home.

You can order your own here, and then, you can thank me for introducing you to quite possibly the greatest candy invented! On the way home, we also stopped to pick up Flathead Cherries. They were to die for, perfectly crunchy and sweet.

You may have noticed, I don’t really know much about downtime or relaxing when I travel. I just can not help myself, when I am in a new place I want to take in anything and everything. I love to explore and try new things and I don’t want to waste a minute. So, pretty much as soon as we got back from Stevensville we headed to Whitefish, Montana. An adorable little ski town about half an hour away and I absolutely loved it!

There was plenty to see and do, if you ever have the chance to go I would recommend having a beverage or two at The Great Northern Brewing Company and a little bit of retail therapy among all of the awesome little boutiques. The design stores there were out of this world. In fact, I think I even said “can I just live here?”. I would definitely go back, I love that small town America feeling and I definitely felt it in Whitefish.

Whitefish marked the end of our stay in Montana, but we did make one more stop on the trek home. Couer d’Alene, Idaho just might have been my favorite. This stunning lakeside town stole a little piece of my heart. My only regret, I wish we’d had more time! We were only there for about 4 hours. We drove in around 11 AM and went straight to Jimmy’s Down the Street.

I’d had this diner on my list since seeing it on an episode of Diners Drive Ins and Dives, and it completely lived up to all of my expectations. I had the special, Huckleberry pancakes…of course!

They were bigger than my face, but still so light and fluffy. In fact, my mouth is watering just thinking about them. It was such a warm and welcoming little place, every single staff member made a point of talking to us. While the regulars sat at the front counter discussing the news, Betty’s dentist appointment,  and the construction up the road. I absolutely I loved it! After a fantastic brunch we headed to Lake Couer d’Alene and for about 3 hours, I sun tanned and just relaxed…weird I know!

As we headed out of town and continued our drive home all I could think is, we have to come back here! It was a fantastic end to an already amazing trip.

In a couple of days we are heading out on one last road trip before summer is over, Calgary won’t know what hit em.

Leave a Reply

