Lucky’s Doughnuts, I Mean Doughnut Heaven!

14 Jul

Sometimes something amazing happens, and you just  can not wait to tell the world about it. For me I had one of those OH EM GEE moments this morning. Normally, I keep a schedule and a list of items I am going to blog about. This morning I headed down to Lucky’s Doughnuts and I planned on telling you all about it later this week. But something magical happened, in fact almost life changing. Yes I am referring to doughnuts as life changing , but I think once you experience them you will agree with me. And yes, I know that I probably talk about doughnuts much more than average person but with good reason, duh, they are delicious!

Back to Lucky’s Doughnuts, I have two words for you. Go Now! A few months ago I told you about Cartem’s in downtown Vancouver, I have also written about Do Rite Donuts in Chicago, well unfortunately for them, they have nothing on Lucky’s. For me, Lucky’s even rivals the famous Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland. Now I know that it a bold statement but trust me, I would not say it if I didn’t mean it.

Lucky’s opened a couple of months ago inside the 49th Parallel coffee shop on Main Street in Vancouver and I have been itching to try them. When I first walked in to the coffee shop I was already sold. The wood beams, mint coffee cups and smell of fresh doughnuts was almost more than I could take.

 

I adore the atmosphere and the coffee was divine. Naturally, when it came time to order my doughnuts I couldn’t have just one, so I ordered a half dozen. That’s normal right? There were so many I wanted to try it was tough to pick just six. In the end I went with, coffee cake, coconut bismark, strawberry shortcake, bacon apple fritter, peanut butter and jelly and the cashier recommended the mango.

I tried each and every one! The bacon apple fritter had no shortage of bacon and the combo of salty and sweet worked perfectly. The stand out for me was probably the peanut butter and jelly, which is strange because I am not the biggest peanut butter fan. I think it was probably the jelly surprise that got me. I mean the doughnut had a hole in so I did not expect it to be filled with delicious home made jam.

The mango doughnut it one of the top sellers at Lucky’s and I think I understand why. Again, hole in the middle…so I was not expecting filling. But one bite and I was taken back by the fresh mango puree inside the doughnut.

Thank goodness I chose to try it, leaving it behind would have been a tragedy! The strawberry shortcake was light and fluffy and filled with fresh strawberries and whip cream.

Let’s not forget the coffee cake, if you like coffee cake, you will LOVE this doughnut. And the coconut bismark, there are just no words, you need to dive into one of your own!

Lucky’s has truly outdone themselves. I can’t wait to head back and sample the rest of their offerings. Their website is currently under construction but you can find them on twitter.

Be sure to pay them a visit and prepare to have your mind blown!

4 Responses to “Lucky’s Doughnuts, I Mean Doughnut Heaven!”

  1. cathy simone July 14, 2012 at 9:55 PM #

    You know Peter works for the 49th parallel and does all their deliveries and works in the warehouse. I could of told you about those doughnuts! They are amazing!

    • Kim July 14, 2012 at 10:07 PM #

      I had no idea! Lucky!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Morsels « Diary of a Jewell - July 16, 2012

    […] I ate far too many doughnuts […]

  2. Last Thing Thursdays « Diary of a Jewell - September 6, 2012

    […] told you how much I loved these when I went to Lucky’s Doughnuts and now I have a whole set to call my very own. Don’t you love it when people pay attention […]

Leave a Reply

