Book Review – The Night Circus

6 Jun

Haven’t seen one of these in a while now have ya? Well that’s because I haven’t had time to sleep let alone read. I actually read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern way back in March. I am not sure why I didn’t tell you about it then but hey, better late than never ( I say that a lot don’t I?)

Photo Credit

If I could use two words to describe this book it would be mysterious and enchanting, oh and awesome…let’s make it three. Deal? Good! I actually decided to read this based on a review I read in Chatelaine magazine. Yes, I read Chatelaine and then I give it to my mom and she gives me her Canadian Living. You’re jealous, I know.

Back to the book, I truly loved every second of it. The Night Circus, also known as Le Cirque des Rêves travels the world in secret, no announcements, no ticket sales, it is simply there and then gone before you know it. It full of interesting characters, illusionists and magicians. Many magical elements are responsible for the maintenance of the show and behind the scenes there is a fierce competition brewing. The story actually spans several decades, it follows Celia and Marco both magicians being trained by two powerful masters of magic. They are being trained to take part in a battle of imagination and will, each not knowing who the opponent is, nor the purpose of the game. Little do they know there can only be one victor. Nor do they know that they are each others opponents and of course they fall madly in love. With the battle of a life time keeping them apart Celia and Marco still manage to build a romance that bridges the gap between love and betrayal.

The Night Circus was so detailed and well written I actually felt like I was a part of the circus. Emily did an amazing job painting a picture in my mind. And although, the book may seem a bit slow moving it is definitely well worth the read. Or else I wouldn’t bother telling you about it! Oh, and the movie rights have also been purchased, let’s hope they do the book justice.

My advice; grab this book, pray for sun, make a summer cocktail and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Book Review – The Night Circus”

  1. The Lit Bitch June 6, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

    This was one of the best books I’ve read this year! I loved it! It is the best kept secret in the literary world right now if you ask me…..SO GOOD! 🙂

    • Kim June 6, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

      Agreed – I love it too!

Leave a Reply

