Book Review – My Name is Memory

28 Mar

Formally known as what’s on my nightstand, the name should be  converted to what’s on my Kindle. But to make matters simple I think we will just stick with book review…it’s just better for everyone!

I actually finished reading “My Name is Memory” by Ann Brashares a couple of weeks ago but I haven’t had time to fill you in until now. I was skeptical when I read the synopsis on the back, as I thought it was going to be a very similar novel to “The Time Travelers Wife” – even a bit of a wannabe. However, I decided to read it anyway because I absolutely love Ann Brashares.

Photo Credit

The book is based around the concept that some of us can remember our past lives and recognize the souls of others – very different from the Time Travelers Wife. Daniel, the protagonist lives life after life waiting for his true love Sophia. He has spent hundreds of years being reincarnated, carry the memories of the past and  falling in love with her over and over. Despite the fact that in each life she has a different name and form and does not remember him. From Lucy the teenager in the present day, to Sophia the woman he can not live without, Daniel does everything in his power to make her fall in love with him again and again. Despite that fact that they are constantly being torn apart.

I really liked the authors portrayal of the characters, I think that she did a phenomenal job making the reader feel what the characters were feeling. I also, really enjoyed the way the book flashed between the past and present allowing me to understand Daniel’s deep-rooted passion. My Name is Memory was definitely a good read and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good love story that has bits of action and suspense intertwined. I will say that I did not love the way the book ended but I will leave it at that – I don’t want to spoil anything!

One Response to “Book Review – My Name is Memory”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Last Thing Thursdays « Diary of a Jewell - March 29, 2012

    […] Photo Credit […]

Leave a Reply

