Valentine’s Day in a Nutshell

15 Feb

Happy belated love day to all of you! I know Valentines day can be quite controversial, for many people it is looked at as a Hallmark holiday, solely intended to break the bank. I can’t say I completely disagree, I am not one for grand gestures but I do enjoy the little things, it’s nice to feel special once in awhile right?!

All in all, it was a pretty awesome day! It started on a hilarious note, Andrew and I got each other the same card. No joke, exactly the same.

In case you were wondering that the inside said, it read “I never get tired of looking at your face.” Romantic I know, obviously we were both sold on the Shar Pei gracing the front cover.

We also went out for dinner at The Refinery on Granville Street. Neither of us had been before and we were both pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, the drinks were inventive and staff was excellent. I highly recommend this gem if you are looking to try something new. Make sure you get the Mixed Board, and the cinnamon bun cheesecake for dessert. We indulged and had 2 desserts…why not right?

Chef’s Valentines Day special…who doesn’t love a brownie!

We really don’t do gifts but I scored myself a rockin’ new royal blue cardigan, way better than flowers and candy. Speaking of candy, if you were given a whole bunch or your like me and proceeded to buy all of the day after discounted candy at the grocery store, you should definitely try this recipe for Valentine’s day candy bark. It’s like one of those what to do with your leftovers recipes, throw everything in a casserole pan and bake it. Except throw everything in chocolate and make it pretty is so much more fun!

Enjoy!

PS. If you are still bitter about not having a Valentine, read this and I promise you’ll not only split a gut and but also feel better about being alone all at the same time. ..amazing!

Leave a Reply

