The Help

14 Sep

Sometimes I think I read books just to read, it’s like a routine. I get into bed read for a few minutes then shut out the light and go to bed. If this is you, and it definitely is me some times (I don’t tell you about those books don’t worry!) then you are not reading the right books. I know this because every now and then there is a really special book that comes along that captures you from the first page and keeps you engrossed until the very last page. And when I say engrossed I mean you can put the stupid thing down; you read it on the way to work, before bed, while dinner is cooking and even during the commercials of Bachelor Pad. You’re hooked and you NEED to know what is going to happen. I haven’t had a book do this to me for quite a while… so I guess I really need to re-evaluate my book selections. That is until I picked up “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.

Photo Credit – http://www.amazon.com

Seriously, I can not say enough good things about this novel, I absolutely loved it. I have wanted to see the movie since I first saw preview months ago but I am the type of person that needs to read the book before I see the movie. I still have yet to see it, but if it is anything like the novel I can hardly wait.

The novel is set in Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960’s around the time of Martin Luther King’s civil right’s movement. Skeeter, is a southern socialite from a wealthy cotton farming family. However, she has never quite fit in the with society girls; with frizzy hair, tall frame, lack of husband and knack for writing she begins to realize maybe there is more out there for her than the bridge club. With a college degree under her belt, she is determined to become a writer. After witnessing her friends discuss some heinous things about the black community, she solicits the help of Aibileen, her best friend’s housekeeper, to begin writing a novel from the maids point of view. From the first page to the last, there was never a dull moment!

I laughed, I cried, and I completely invested myself in the characters. This book truly had it all and I can’t wait to see it in theater.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

