Weekly Obsessions – August 24

24 Aug

As you know my Summer has been pretty jammed packed and because of that I haven’t been able to share the exciting gifts I received for my birthday with you. I was given so many amazing things by family friends, there were a couple of items for my kitchen that I have been dying to share with you.

Kitchen Aid Mixer – I feel like I have been asking for this for every birthday and Christmas for the past few years and finally my wish came true and let me just say it was well worth the wait! Now the only problem is my oven is broken, meaning every night when I get home from work and all I want to do is bake and all I can do is stare at my kitchenaid mixer longingly. It is pure torture…the other night I made whip cream just because I wanted to turn it on and hear her purr… the whip cream is still sitting in my fridge. Any takers?

A Juicer – I know that you are asking yourself…what 24 year old asks for a juicer? It may seem a bit strange, but I was sooooo excited, this was another item that I have wanted for a long time. As you can see I am kind of in love with anything cooking or kitchen related and a juicer is the perfect addition. The past few days I have spent a fair amount of time juicing everything in my fridge to see what I could come up with. Here are a couple of really simple juice recipes for all of you healthy people out there.

Veggie Juice

4 carrots

2 handfuls of spinach or kale

3 beets

Watermelon Punch

1/4 of a watermelon

8 strawberries

2 nectarines

Make sure you cut everything up into smaller pieces (and remove the nectarine pit) add a couple of ice cubes, stir and enjoy!

Thanks to my fancy new gadgets I will be doing plenty more cooking so you can expect some great recipes and probably a few disasters heading your way. Now if only someone would fix the oven…

One Response to “Weekly Obsessions – August 24”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Labor Day! « Diary of a Jewell - September 5, 2011

    […] not to hot to turn on your oven and bake, in case you were wondering mine is still broken…If yours works, try these homemade granola bars for a back to school (or work) […]

Leave a Reply

