Sonoma – A piece of heaven

17 Aug

So I am still catching up blogging about the last few weeks and can I just say that I absolutely love California, I don’t know what it is but I just always have a hankering to travel there. From Disneyland to Sonoma there is no shortage of things to do. I recently spent a day in Sonoma and for me it was absolutely life changing. I can not imagine a more perfect place to relax, oh and drink copious amounts of wine of course.

Not only is the food and wine amazing the scenery is pretty spectacular as well. I was only able to spend one night but it was by far the best part of my vacation. We flew into Oakland airport and rented a car to drive the 1 hour to Sonoma, which thanks to a missed exit actually took about an hour and a half. Not to shabby for a couple of girls who generally rely on their “always right” boyfriends. Don’t worry we didn’t tell them we actually got lost, no need to fuel the fire. I am sure that many of you can relate.

What to Do…

We only had a day and we wanted to make the most of it and we sure did. Once we arrived, we rented bicycles and cycled to a couple of wineries and I would say from experience if you are operating something with 2 wheels and wine tasting you should definitely wear a helmet. There were no incidents on this particular adventure but if we’d done more than two wineries and if the tasting rooms were open later than 5 PM it just might have gotten out of hand!

Grab your swimsuit and head to the nearest pool, with typically fantastic weather from May to October make sure you soak up some rays. After the wine and ride we enjoyed a poolside nap…amazing!

Visit the spa, we were fortunate enough to stay at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa and use their Bathhouse. It was phenomenal, serene is an understatement. It is by far one of the most relaxing experiences I have ever had.

Bring an appetite, Sonoma is full of local, gourmet food that is to die for! We ate at Sante inside the Fairmont and I do not even have words for the grown up mac and cheese. Oh wait, I believe I said “can you please bring me some more bread so I don’t start licking the sauce out of the bowl” as usual very lady like of me, somethings will never change!

Just breathe… take it all in, it really is that amazing. Oh and do me a favor and don’t forget your camera, the views are out of this world!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Take me back there PLEASE!

2 Responses to “Sonoma – A piece of heaven”

  1. SonomaValleyWineries (@WineInSonoma) August 18, 2011 at 5:06 PM #

    Glad to hear you had a great time here in the beautiful Sonoma Valley. For assistance on picking things to do, as well as which wineries to visit, see http://SonomaValleyWineries.org/ . The “One Perfect Day” accounts describe some of my favorite restaurants and activities in the area as well as wineries not to miss. Oh, and hurry back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Morsels « Diary of a Jewell - August 20, 2012

    […] have been wine touring in Sonoma but this was definitely a whole new experience. The Okanagan scenery was amazing and the wine was […]

Leave a Reply

