Playoff Fever

13 Apr

I’ve got a fever, and the only cure is…a Canuck victory! I don’t know about you, but this is my favorite time of year to watch hockey, when it really means something. I realize that all of the other games this year had to mean something to get to where we are, but it is just not the same the feeling. Watching a regular season game and watching a playoff game is like night and day.

No, I am not jumping on the bandwagon just because we have a solid chance at the cup. I watch all year round, but I feel like my mentality completely changes once we hit Round 1. It is soooo intense, I get so nervous that I have butterflies in my stomach, I yell at the TV, swear at the refs, coach the players from the couch as if I know better; I really have no idea what comes over me.

I love all of the hype throughout the city: playoff songs, business’s plastered in Canucks logo’s and car flags on 90% of vehicles you see on the street. But I will tell you the one thing I do not love. You guessed it, the playoff beard…gross! If your team only lasts a week it’s not so bad, but when you are a Canuck fan you are bound to have some serious hair growth on that face. To all of you women out there whose partners choose to do this, my heart goes out to you. And to all you men out there that do this, despite what you think it is not okay to look like you are living in the jungle for the next 2 months. I get that some people are very superstitious, so here’s to hoping your partner isn’t the one who doesn’t change their underwear until we lose!

Go Canucks Go!

Leave a Reply

